Station Tilburg

The current Tilburg station building was built in 1965 to a design by architect Koen van der Gaast and replaced the old station building from 1863.

Tilburg Station is part of The Collection, a collection of 50 stations that provide a representative picture of the buildings owned by NS and ProRail. These are special buildings, each with unique architectural characteristics, which are worth preserving. On the basis of the agreements between NS and ProRail, a cultural-historical value assessment (a study that provides insight into the cultural-historical significance of a station and its surroundings, ed.) applies to this station. More information: https://www.spoorbeeld.nl/databank/tilburg 

The present Tilburg railway station building was built in 1965 …

Tilburg Station is part of The Collection, a collection of 50 stations that provide a representative picture of the buildings owned by NS and ProRail. These are special buildings, each with unique architectural characteristics, which are worth preserving. On the basis of the agreements between NS and ProRail, a cultural-historical value assessment (a study that provides insight into the cultural-historical significance of a station and its surroundings, ed.) applies to this station. More information: https://www.spoorbeeld.nl/databank/tilburg 

The present Tilburg railway station building was built in 1965 to a design by architect Koen van der Gaast and replaced the old station building dating from 1863. The station consists mainly of a high, remarkably designed 'floating' roof, under which the platforms and the restaurant are situated. In popular speech, this roof is also called the kroepoekdak. In 2013, the renovation of the station began. In 2015 the building was designated as a national monument.

Next to the Central Station of Tilburg is a bell tower built of brick. Because of its unusual shape, the tower is popularly called "the Wasknijper". The bell tower belongs to the station which was built in 1965 by railroad architect Koenraad van der Gaast (Utrecht 1923 - 1993). The unveiling of the tower was on October 16, 1965.

More information: https://nl.wikipedia.org/wiki/Station_Tilburg 

Contact

Address:
Spoorlaan
5038 CB Tilburg
Plan your route

Location